Working Out Working Out

Never miss a Monday. That’s the one and only rule for exercise. Never miss a Monday workout.

I strive to workout every single day. That was/is my one New Years resolution, and I’m proud to say that I have actually stuck to it. No matter what is happening, how chaotic life gets, what roadblocks get in my way, I find a way to get in at least 30 minutes of some sort of work out at the end of my day. I’m really proud of the fact that I’ve committed to this daily task. Nothing distracts me from getting my workout.

Hell, the night before Stella decided to wreak her wintery havoc all over the Northeast, I drove over to the gym to have a thirty minute date with the elliptical before I was snowbound inside thanks to the impending two feet of ice and snow that the news had warned everyone about for the past couple of days. I didn’t care if the snow started while I was there. I’d leave my car and walked home; I lived close enough. I had to get my thirty minutes of exercise in, no matter what.

Side note: Sorry for bringing up winter storm Stella so much, but this wintery girl is EVERYWHERE; its unavoidable, and there’s more snow to come for some of us.

I’m not saying I’m some sort of health nut guru type person, not even by the longest of shots.

I would never say that as I am currently consuming Chinese food and drinking a nice glass or two of white wine. I’m a bit of a junk food vegan who loves her carbs and alcohol (in moderation). It can be the most chemically laden product on the face of the earth, and I will eat it so long as it didn’t involve the harm of an animal or an animal product. My thin physique is from good genetics and not from any sort of healthy living lifestyle, at least on the diet end of things.

I’m not completely proud of my ethical, but not so healthy vegan diet, but I am proud of the fact I’ve taken my health into my own hands consistently in the exercise department.

Currently, my workouts consist of the elliptical and the treadmill with an occasional one-woman yoga session thrown in when I can’t draw the slightest ounce of any motivation to place myself on some sort of workout equipment or when I need the meditative nature of yoga more than I need the physical aspect of it. In any case, every day I take care to exercise my muscles and mind.

I’m not exactly sure why I work out to be honest. I don’t need it for health or weight loss reasons. My body’s in decent enough shape. I’m not training for any athletic event. Still, I work out.

Maybe, I work out because I need to feel accomplished in something in my life. Every day, I complete a task. I hold to a commitment, and I keep going despite anything that could hold me back.

I work out, and my life starts to as well.

 

Leave a Reply

