When You Were/While You’re Still Young.

Age ain’t nothing but a number. Getting old is inevitable, growing old is optional.  I don’t wanna grow up; I’m a Toys-R-Us kid. Old

Ah, aging. Love it or hate it, it happens. It always happens.

We can’t stop the aging process. As every second of the day passes by us, we get ourselves a little closer to our life’s big finale. Our hair whitens or grays, and our skins wrinkles like a raisin. We can try to delay the physical processes or cover it up, but age will happen no matter what we try to do.

We will get old. It happens, and we have absolutely zero power in prevent it. When you’re young, you can’t wait for it to happen. When you’re old, you pray for it to halt, if only for a second. Even if it’s only by seconds, we will always get older.

Well, what about growing up, then?

If we have to get old, does this mean we also have to grow up? When must the time come when we must let go of our childhood treasures and embrace adulthood? Do we have to? Is there actually an age when we should have grown up and out of childish things? When must we reach maturity, if we ever have to at all?

Sorry to say, I have no answers for that question. I’m still trying to figure out the answer myself.

I’ve gotten myself to the point where I’m, as the great Britney Spears once sang, not a girl, not yet a woman. It doesn’t help that I’m a twenty-six year old girl who still has to shop in the junior section due to size. I feel like my body is moving quicker to adulthood than my mind is willing to go. I think I’m actually trying to resist my body’s insistence of growing up. Maybe, I’m not as ready as my physical self seems to be.

Maybe, I don’t know if I actually want to grow up. I know I, like many, will put any excuse in my way to avoid it.

When we want to avoid embracing adulthood, we try to partake in the joys of our childhood and cling to the childishness. What’s even funnier is that we will put every excuse out into the universe to justify staying childish instead of just openly enjoying these things. We just want to stay young so we age gracefully. We’re only pretending to like the joys of our childhood. We’ll claim were enjoying it ironically. It’s written by, made by, or starring a favorite entertainer. I’ve used all of those excuses, but my delaying of adulthood is due to one particular force in this universe.

Nostalgia.

I got to see the new Power Rangers reboot last night. What’s funny is that I “forced” myself to watch the original episode in preparation so I could joke and rip on how bad the reboot was going to be. Watching that old episode, I was enjoying every action scene and ’90s era joke that was being thrown at me. I walked into the theater, ready to act all high and mighty about how bad it was going to be.

But…

Dammit I enjoyed the reboot as well. Even cooler, I was sitting in a theater with a bunch of other ’90s babies who cheered at every joke and action scene, just like we did when we were kids, without any ounce of shame.

 

So I ask again, when do we become too old for things?

Leave a Reply

