Ideal Ideas

I have no idea about what my ideas should be

Take today, for instance, or any other day.

Every day, I waste time doing meaningless tasks and activities waiting to be inspired to compose five-hundred words that center on one general train of thought that doesn’t go off the rails too much.

Today is no different from any other day since I started this little daily blog post experiment.  It’s getting closer to midnight, and I’m scrambling to come up with about eighty more words to reach my self-imposed five-hundred word goal. Usually, I force myself to start by eight-o’clock at night. I’ll sit in front of my MacBook Air and type a smattering of half-sentences, hoping at least one of them will inspire a witty, humorous, and/or insightful post. By nine, I’ve convinced myself that a work-out will spark ideas out of my brain. Once that’s done, I scramble to write about two-hundred and fifty more words to convince myself I’ve done a good job.

Somehow, by midnight, five-hundred words somehow resembling a coherent thought are being sent off to be judged by strangers on the internet, even if I started out as I almost always do.

Having no idea at all.

As usual, I have no idea what I want to write about, again, so I’m going to write about needing ideas to write about and where I can get my ideas from.

Need something to write about? Write about needing something to write about. I am a genius. Ok, not really, but since this blog thing is about exercising my writing muscles and getting into better writing habits, I suppose it is a smart idea to compose a post about how I come up with or struggle with coming up with my ideas for writing.

How do we come up our ideas? Where do ideas for things even come from? How do ideas start?

I believe in one thing about idea: they have to come from somewhere. Nothing comes from nothing. I’m a firm believer in the fact that ideas have to be inspired by something. There has to be something to spark the kindling of inspiration into a fully formed idea.

Where does that come from? Who knows or cares? We can debate where the spark for inspiration comes from at another time. It really doesn’t matter. The only thing that we need for ideas is the inspiration, no matter how it happens.

Inspiration, though, isn’t always reliable.

 

I hate when I feel uninspired. It’s like I’m seeing the world as its boring, gray self. I don’t feel tired, but I don’t feel at all energized. I just existing, statically in the world. While a little reprise from the ups and downs of life is nice, it is detrimental to the betterment of the world if we don’t strive to come up with new ideas.

I don’t like to force inspiration. I much prefer to let it come to me. Ideas, in my humble opinion are best when they organically sprout from your train of thought. Forcing them makes them feel forced. Passion, I think, is key to coming up with strong, good ideas that can truly make a difference.

But we need ideas, good or bad. Whether we like it or not, we have to keep coming up with new and different. So, keep thinking, no matter what.

I should confess I have no idea how to end this post.

Leave a Reply

