All I Have to do is Dream

“A dream is a wish your heart makes when you’re fast asleep”- Disney’s Cinderella. 

I’m a very mental person. Whether I’m partially awake or completely asleep, there isnt often a time when I’m not in my head. Maybe it’s because I’m a socially anxious introvert, but I don’t really live a very external life. My choices in activities like writing, reading, or listening to music don’t require me to step into the uncontrollable external. Here inside my head, I can gain control. Internally, I am able to feel more secure than I could in the outside world.

One thing all of this internal mental action has shown me is that I am one particular type of person.

I am an up-in-the-clouds, feet off of the ground dreamer.

We are all dreamers. Every single one of us has had a dream, good or bad, at some point in our lives. Some have more than others. Dreams are incredibly powerful. They are places that we can escape reality or places where the real of reality catches up to us whether we want to or not. Whatever the case, the act of dreaming is something that all human beings will experience at least once in their lifetimes. However, our experiences in the land of dreams are typically vastly different.

Not all dreams are created equal.

Every time I dream is a new story unfolding. Some with happy endings, some without. And yet, though my dreams may be different in content, it’s the fact that my dreams are not the same at different times of the day that is truly the weird part of my life as a dreamer. I don’t know how it is for some, but my day dreams and nighttime dreams are incredibly different. I dream in a way that benefits me at whatever time of day I find myself in.

I dream like day and night during the night and day.

During the day, my daydreams are generally quite pleasant like a warm sunny day. Reality tends to beat me senselessly on a daily basis, and one thing I’ve found helpful is to let my mind partially wander off to wherever isn’t my current immediate location. It helps me relax to better and more efficiently work.  A happy worker is a more productive worker.

Yes, I do actively work at my job. Most of my brain power is still devoted to my computer working on my required tasks. I just fraction off a tiny bit to daydreaming so I don’t become overwhelmed. In my daydreams, I have the freedom to be whomever I choose, to go wherever I want, and do whatever I want to do.

During the day, I choose to be free. At night, reality decides to catch up with me whether I like it or not.

Night offers different dreams that aren’t nearly as controllable or pleasant as those experienced during the bright sunny hours of the day time. Maybe it’s because I’m not awake, but most of my night dreams become nightmares without my consent. During the day, I choose to drift off. The night forces my mind back to reality when my waking self has shut off for the night. I’m defenceless against my own reality during my dreams.  That forces me to deal with whatever I avoided in my life during the day.

Dreams are important because life cannot just be facts and figures. We are made up of ideas and thoughts and stressors and joys, and dreams are where we processes and/or run away from those things. Whenever life is weighing me down or if I haven’t dealt with something I need to, there is one thing I have to do.

All I have to do is dream.

Leave a Reply

