Wonder Why?

Armpit hair?

Wonder woman, the original female comic book super hero, the strongest fictional woman in the universe, finally gets a blockbuster film worthy of the greatness of the character, and there are people complaining that the live action version has shaved arm pits.

Because…that’s a factor one that should be paid attention to when it comes adapting a comic book: realistic body hair.

Body hair or not, the new Wonder Woman movie looks amazing, and dear Lord, do we need Wonder Woman right now.

My love for DC comic’s amazonian princess is a newly discovered one. I honestly had never taken notice of her until the trailers for the modern DC movies started featuring her.  Even more honestly, I had never really taken notice of American comic books and their adaptations until recently.

I grew up an anime fan throughout my childhood. While some kids were growing up watching wholesome American tv programs, I grew up watching cartoons and television shows from Japan. One show in particular rose above all the rest.

Sailor Moon.

Sailor Moon, for this ’90s anime baby, was the Wonder Woman. Like Wonder Woman, Sailor Moon was a princess and a hero. She was my all time favorite hero, and I worshiped the ground she walked on fictionally. Along my favorite moon princess who fought evil by moonlight and won love by daylight, I grew up with the Powerpuff Girls, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Xena: Warrior Princess. With so many female heroes, I grew up believing this to be the norm.

Reality, as I would soon find out, the strong woman who saves the day was not the norm in the world of comic book heroes.

They were all gone. Once the golden age of the ’90s drifted away cancellations and comics going out of print forced these badass ladies into the obscurity. There didn’t even seem to be a favorable place for any comic book heroes anymore in the 2000s. Comic book heroes seemed to just fade from public eye as we moved towards the new millennium. Sure, there was the occasional Spiderman or X-men movie that flickered across the silver screen, but no super hero film seemed to capture and hold the general public’s interest for more than a brief moment.

Until the MCU machine happened, then I and the world had no choice but to take notice.

I just didn’t realize how hard of a time I would have looking for the female heroes.

Up until the start of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Marvel didn’t matter much to me. The X-Men cartoon and maybe the Spiderman cartoon were really my only exposure to this world. When the live action movies started, I didn’t really didn’t care much until these films began presenting a pattern.

There only seemed to be men in the leading roles. With the promise, but not guarantee of  a Captain Marvel movie and a Black Widow movie and very little merchandise available for the female characters that were present, Marvel really didn’t influence me to get into their stories. As a woman, I felt rejected.

Side note: If you haven’t seen the underrated gem of Marvel’s Jessica Jones, you are missing out on one of the greatest heroes of Marvel.

As for DC, none of their characters ever resonated with me. Batman, Superman, and the rest weren’t the most recognizable of characters. Honestly, they seemed have just become archetypes and symbols. I couldn’t really recall any discernible character traits that would make them more.

Finding female super heroes in the modern era seemed hopeless. In my blind disinterest/hate of these American comic book juggernauts and their apparent lack of representation of women, I overlooked the promise of the one female hero who could save my faith in the American comic book and restore hope for me as a female fan.

Wonder Woman.

It wasn’t until the Batman Vs Superman trailer that I was finally introduced to DC’s leading lady properly.

There she was in all of her warrior glory.

There’s been a fair amount of backlash towards this version of WonderI should say this; I don’t think most of the criticism of Wonder Woman is due to the fact she is a woman; comic book fans are just super particular about adhering to the details of the comics. But if I’m honest, those details from the old comics are irrelevant because if you can’t tell that she is worthy of praise, admiration, and that she is going to be a hero worth waiting for…

…she is.

Leave a Reply

