Beauty is a Beast

You shouldn’t judge a book by its cover.

Except, you do. We all do. Everyday.

When I go into a bookstore with no clear idea what I want to read, I browse the bookstore looking for something to sink my teeth into. How do I browse, you might ask? Well, I look at all of the titles of the books on the different shelves. Where do publishers typically put the titles?

On the cover.

One of the first things anyone will notice about a book as it sits on the shelf is the title. If the title seems unique and interesting, I’ll pick up the text for a closer look. To better understand just what the meaning of the title is, I’ll take a look at the spoiler free summary that’s listed, where?

On the cover.

You can claim all you want that covers do not matter, in the end they don’t, but they are inescapable. Covers are the first things people see. Whether you believe in their importance or not, they are the first impression given to the world. Obviously, there is more beneath the surface of a person, just like there is more to the story beyond the summary and title on the book jacket. Everything in life is just a cover until you dig a little deeper.

Books and people: they’re not as different as they appear.

I, like many people across the globe, put on my own sort of book jacket every morning. I just do it in the form of applying makeup. I apply each layer of foundation and concealer, put on the various articles of clothing I need to wear for the day, and off I go in my book jacket ready to start my day and present myself to the world.

Hopefully, my cover looks interesting enough for people to want to read my summary. Then, if the summary is enticing enough, they can read my story.

It all starts with the cover.

Content is the most important thing about both books and people. I hope most people would agree with the idea that it is what’s on the inside that counts, as cliché as it may sound. Who you are should most certainly be the most vital aspect of the judgement of you, but the fact of the matter is that first impressions start on the cover.

To seem less superficial, a person’s “cover” isn’t necessarily their outward physical appearance.  A cover is just the first impression of your first appearance. A cover is the title of an article in a news article.  It’s the sound of your voice before you enter a room. It’s a reputation. Of course, it’s not your real honest self, and people will see this if they take the time to look beyond the cover at your story.

It’s the you before they meet the you beyond the cover.

I know it’s what’s on the inside that truly counts when all is said and done, but feel free to make the book jacket a little interesting.

Leave a Reply

