Friends, Lend Me Your Ears (Eyes)

If a tree falls in the forest and there’s no one around to hear it, does it make a sound?

If a writer writes and there’s no one around to read it, is it a published work?

My writing voice is a work in progress, but it’s not the only problem facing me as a writer. Lately, I’ve struggling with trying to get people to notice me. I try to find something that should sound like voice when I venture to be actually social, but it doesn’t seem to be heard by anyone else. I long for others to read and enjoy my work. I know this means that I have to work on discovering the one thing that all writers must figure out if they want recognition.

Audiences.

Love or hate them, they are there, and they are one of the most important aspects of being any sort of an artist.

Any type of invention, work of art, or anything you produce or does that is viewed or noticed by someone other than the artist/inventor/worker has an audience, others that will receive what you do and judge it, Audiences can take whatever stance and opinion they want regarding your work. You relinquish full control when you release your work into the hands of even just one person.

It’s a scary thought to have your work in the hands and opinions of others, yet most artists and performers seek it out.

As social anxious as I can get, even I love a good audience in some respects. I don’t just write for myself. My speaking voice may not always work the way I want it to, but my voice still works and needs to be heard. I have strong opinions, and I want them to be known to the world. Hell, I want to be remembered as egotistical as it may sound. The only way I can ever dream of being remembered is to let others see what I have to offer.

I don’t just want an audience. I need one.

I’ve always craved an audience of some type. It’s just the type of audience I’ve sought that has changed. Back when I was a wide-eyed innocent of the world, I loved performing and craved the opportunities that allowed people to notice what I believed to me my amazing talent. Any and every opportunity to show off in front of a crowd was mine for the taking.

When my more introverted nature began to emerge as I got older, I began to seek shelter from the spotlight instead of basking in it. Still, the craving for attention from an audience grew stronger, and I found a new outlet and space to gather a crowd to show off to.

Writing.

 

Though I am fiercely protective over my writing, I desire an audience. I keep trying to convince myself that this blog is just for me to improve my writing, but I know that isn’t true. I get excited when my phone alerts me to a new follower or viewer of a post. I love that there are people out there reading what I wrote. I also get crushed if I go on a no-view streak without any alerts, but that’s been teaching me a valuable lesson as an artist.

No audience for a post means I have to work a little harder.

It’s scary to think about having an audience and putting myself out there, especially when it comes to my writing, but I love it just the same.

No digital applause necessary.

Leave a Reply

