She Persisted

She persisted.

Writers, in my humble opinion, are supposed be the absolute best at their craft. The best of the best at the writing craft somehow manage to cut through and overcome whatever they need do in order to reach the top of a seemingly unclimbable mountain.

How do they do all of this? Well, I don’t have the faintest clue.

I want nothing more than to move forward in this world, hopefully in my desired fields of writing and literature. I want to be one of the writers that people will remember. I want to be one of, if not, the best of the best. The problem is that I don’t know what the secret to advancement in this field is. What is the right path or action that will take me to the next level? I don’t know where I am supposed to go or do to get better and move forward.

For inspiration and encouragement, I’ll look to the past and hope to find my own future in it.

The book Hidden Figures and the movie of the same name feature brilliant women of color who were also incredible mathematicians before and at the beginning of America’s entrance into the cosmos. Without giving the plot away as I will encourage everyone to pick up this book or movie to consume at your leisure, I can summarize the experiences of these women in two words.

She persisted.

Moving ahead in their careers, despite all of the discrimination being put in their way, these women pushed forwarded. They grasped opportunity and fought for it no matter what. It didn’t matter if there was no protocol for the advancement of women or of people of color at the height of racial discrimination in the United States; they persisted. If they thought they were qualified or the best person for the job, they fought for it. They did what ever it took to get farther in their careers and goals to get where they were meant to be.

Was it easy to reach that seemingly unachievable level? I don’t imagine it was at all. Pushing against hundreds of years of the closed doors of society with the odds stacked high against you is one of the hardest things that can ever be accomplished. These woman, I can only assume from reading their story, tapped into some sort of inner strength I have not been able to reach within myself.  They reached the level, that level of being the best of the best despite so much against them.

They persisted.

We don’t hear about stories like theirs as often as we should. The title of the book says it all. They were forgotten key players to the events that would help us reach the stars themselves. These stories and other of individuals who pushed past boundaries of racial prejudice, sexism, or any other obstacle to reach that level that seems impossible to reach need to be told because they give people hope. It shouldn’t matter if it seems an impossible goal; keep going no matter what.

Knowing this story has given me the hope and inspiration I need.

I may not always know if I can make it, but I’ll persist.

Leave a Reply

