Santa Claus is Real

I believe in Santa Claus.

I am twenty-six years old, and I still believe in jolly ol’ Saint Nick.

Not to judge a person’s parenting style as I’m sure people have their reasons, but I cannot stand when a parent tells a child that Santa Claus isn’t real, particularly the really young ones. One of the best parts of the holiday season is listening to a young child excitedly talk about what the mystical figure of Christmas will bring them or watching them sit on a mall Santa’s lap fully believing him to be the real life man.

Christmas becomes more because children believe in the magic of the season in a way that adults have forgotten.

Unfortunately, many kids are forced to forget so much sooner than they maybe should.  There’s always one kid who is told too early about Santa’s existance , grows up too quickly, and tells his or her peers as soon as they can, causing the magic to dissipate far sooner than it should for children.

Why is believing in magic so wrong? Why are so many people so quick to let go of childhood and grow up? What’s the hurry?

Adulthood isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be.

I’m not saying we should and could all be like Peter Pan and never grow up ever. We can and will grow up. Obviously, I grew up to realize that an old fat guy with a white beard didn’t sneak into my house on Christmas eve and that my parents were the ones that were leaving the presents under the tree, but I came to that conclusion without a hard slap of reality to the face. It was the same with the tooth fairy. I wanted to believe in the magic of all of these things, so my parents let me and never told me otherwise. Honestly, I still haven’t been told that Santa isn’t real.

He’s real, right?

I was allowed to believe in magic for as long as I possibly could.

It’s not just the parents that shatter the innocent magic of childhood; we do it to ourselves. When we were little, we were in such a rush to grow up. We dreamt dreams about what we want to be when we grew up. We wanted to be able to do all of the things the adults could do because we felt that our world was so limited, but we couldn’t see that it was in our childhood dreams where the world had no boundaries.

Now, I’m at a point where I’d give absolutely anything to go back to a world of magic and make believe.

We need more magic in the world. At least, we need so many more people to believe in magic. Look at all of the darkness in the news. Reality has become so cynically harsh that it’s hard to believe that there is anything good left in this world.

We need the magic of childhood back.

Believe in Santa and magic. We need this innocent faith now more than ever.

 

Leave a Reply

