You Like Me, But Do I Like Me?

You are not alone.

While some of us like myself live life in their own personal bubble, we don’t exist in this world on our own. The world is more than just ourselves, and we cannot pretend that it is all about ourselves. Other people live on this planet, so we’ve learned to adjust ourselves around their existence, sometimes at the expense of ourselves and our own needs.

We’ve molded ourselves to the existence of the other.

We often act, or react I suppose, to the supposed perspectives of the others. I’m not saying that going about your day like this is entirely a negative thing. There’s nothing wrong about wanting to be liked, and we shouldn’t be disrespectful to the wants and needs of others. We should be considerate of others because being a good person seems to be in short supply these days, but what about ourselves? Are we just as mindful of our needs as we are of the needs of others?

Do you like you?

Put aside the ideas of morality and social awareness, and evaluate your life. Whether you act in ways that others would perceive as morally obscene or just, ask yourself if you’re proud of yourself and how you act.  You are the person you spend the most time with throughout the day. Are you good company for yourself?

It’s not exactly an easy question for me personally to answer.

I don’t think I hate who I am, though I’ve been a horrible friend to myself, but I don’t know if I truly enjoy and appreciate the person I am right now. I try to be a good person, but I try to be a good person for other people. I strive to be someone others are proud of, but I think I’ve stopped trying to be a person worthy of me. I even struggle with the idea of others liking me because I don’t know if I even like me.

This creates a problem.

I want to be liked, but I do not necessarily like me. That’s not at all fair. How can we ask others to accept us when we find difficulty in accepting the face in the mirror. How can we dare to promote ourselves to others when we struggle to be our own cheerleaders?

While I don’t exactly know who I am or who I will be, I have to start accepting myself as I sort of am right now. At every little mistake or time when the world doesn’t favor me, I berate myself. Without going into detail, I’ve been so unkind to myself, and I don’t know exactly when it happened or why. I’ve grown too concerned with my favor in the eyes of others that I don’t take the time to take care of me.

So in summation, while you should always strive to be considerate of others, maybe it’s ok to be a little selfish and take care of yourself first every now and again.

Now someone want to teach me to take my own advice?

Leave a Reply

