When You Have Eliminated the Impossible…

w6SaYrbwR5PY4mcrJYIXfWC5Ker.jpg

“It is an old maxim of mine that when you have excluded the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth,”-Sherlock Holmes, “The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet”, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Renewed: to begin again.

It’s a word that when uttered typically invokes thoughts of beginning again or feeling refreshed. Whatever

That’s not the only meaning of the word, though.

It’s also the word that brings the greatest joy to fans of particular television shows if it pops up in a news story next to a favorite show. If your favorite show is consistently earning great ratings, it’s a word that is expected to heard early on. It’s a word that’s prayed for should the show run into problems like poor ratings. In this case, if it’s attached to a favorite show of yours, it basically means that the show gets to live another day.

It’s a simple word that can mean so much to a fan base of television programs. You can say it’s elementary.

Right before the penultimate episode that would lead into the finale, I heard this word in regard to one of my all-time favorite shows. The CBS television show Elementary, a modern television adaptation of the Sherlock Holmes stories set in New York City, finally earned a renewal for a sixth season a few days ago.

I’m still doing the happy dance as I recover from my joyous shock.

While it is an incredibly well written and acted show, given it’s poor time slot of ten o’clock on Sundays where it can and has been pushed back or not aired at all, it’s honestly a miracle and an unsolvable mystery that it somehow managed to escape the cancellation guillotine for another year.

Despite it’s unfortunate environment in terms of the television schedule, I tuned in no matter when it ended up airing at.  I am a fan of the show and faithfully show my support come whatever may.

Like a close friend, I show loyal dedication to the television programs I devote my time to watching on a regular basis. I wouldn’t be able to call myself a fan if I didn’t show my loyalty.

Television, as trivial as it may seem to some, really matters to me. I’m incredibly picky about what shows I opt to devote my time and energy into watching. Shows must provide me with a unique narrative, compelling characters, and must be intellectually stimulating.  Since most shows cater to the lowest common denominator, the few shows that pass my test are incredibly important to me, and I will do anything to preserve these shows for as long as possible.

It’s seems crazy to show this much devotion to a television show, but hear me out.

Though it might seem a waste of time, watching a lot of television is valuable to my own creative endeavors. Texts can only go so far in inspiring me to write, especially works of fiction. Sometimes, it’s more creatively stimulating to see the stories executed right in front of my eyes.

Plus, tv shows are just fun to watch.

Aside from engaging in fictional entertainment to stimulate one’s own creativity, it’s also incredibly important to take a break every once in a while. Fiction is an incredible thing in our lives. It can stimulate creativity to inspire others to create and inspire, thus creating an inspirational cycle that is something the world needs right now.

It gives our minds a place to be renewed.

Leave a Reply

