The Cheerleader

Poms.jpg

S.T.U.C.K.

Stuck.

Right now, I’m at a point in my life where I have no clue what I should be doing next in my life. All I know is that there is some place I need to be that isn’t where I am right now.

The key is in the ignition, but the car just will not start up.

I’m torn between two opposite solutions to my lack of direction in life: should I try and know exactly where I want to go in my life, or should I not and keep my options as open as possible to fit into life’s unpredictable nature? Both options, as most things do in life, offer challenges. Having too particular of a plan is terrible for life’s little surprises, but not really having any sort of plan doesn’t really help you figure out your purpose. It’s terribly confusing. I have no idea what I am supposed to do.

I wish there was someone who could tell me exactly what to do, someone who can provide me with exact turn for turn directions on how I am supposed to live my life.

Actually, scratch that, I don’t exactly think that’s what my life needs in order to get out of this rut. It’s my life; I need to be the one to decide what direction it will take. My goals and choice are what will craft my life. I don’t need someone to tell me what to do. I just would like someone to get me to do whatever it is I should do. I need a motivator, someone who will encourage me to at least try to do more to improve my life. I need someone to cheer me on as I do what I need to do.

I need a cheerleader.

We don’t need someone to praise each and every choice we make in life. We don’t need some sort of life guru to instruct us on the path we need to take in our lives. We don’t even need advise from a well-meaning relative about making what they believe to be good choices for us. All we need is someone to keep us from standing still. We need a friend to brace ourselves on as we lift ourselves out of whatever rut we found ourselves in. We need encouragement to try when it would be easier for us to just give up.

We need someone to cheer us on with a “go team go.”

I am a strong person, stronger than I give myself credit for most days.  I know I can walk through fire if I need to and survive. I’m tough, but I forget to give myself credit for that. I don’t need someone to tell me what is or isn’t the right thing to do. I just need someone to cheer me on as I’m trying to do something. I need someone to support me as I try to move forward in my life.

Anyone got any pom poms they want to wave in celebration of me?

Leave a Reply

