Remake (?) What’s Wrong (?)

DirtyDancing3-lg

I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again.

We’ve run out of new ideas for everything.

Right now, as I type this, I’m giving my attention partially to whatever movie or television show is playing on the television. I am able to relax and look away from the screen when I needed to so I could get my work done. Unless I am absolutely devoted to the show or movie, I will split my attention from my work and my entertainment. Only the greatest and worst of what television has to offer can glue my eyes to the screen and only the screen.

Unfortunately, I wish I was able to look away from the screen during a television event earlier in the week.

Needless to say, I did not have the time of my life watching what I watched.

The made-for-tv remake Dirty Dancing, through its promotions and trailers, tried to call upon everyone’s nostalgic feelings for the classic of the ’80s. They made every attempt to recreate each and every iconic moment from the original film so audiences would have the time of their lives.

Too bad their attempt flopped worse than Baby the first time she attempted to do the lift.

The remake was absolute garbage.

Sticking to closely to the origianl script, the made-for television remake offered none of the familar faces or charm of the original of the same name. With phoned-in acting and odd, random musical numbers from normally talented actors, the three hour remake only offered multiple cringe worthy moments. Every single time a cord of a song started, I prayed that there wouldn’t be an unnecessary singing number, and there ALWAYS WAS! Each memorable moment from the “I carried a watermelon” to the “No body puts baby in a corner” felt forced and false when deliver from the lips of the the remake’s actors.

Still, it succeeded in a way, if you can call this success.  People knew the name and tuned in to watch regardless.

We complain that remakes are never as good as the original, but most of the modern entertainment being released is recycled from the past.

This year alone has seen multiple, beloved classics be remade for the modern cinematic audience.

I wonder why we are so reluctant to let go of the past and create the unknown. Maybe, we’re scared of just that: the unknown. When we remake a classic, we know that it has succeeded in the past and has a built in audience. We have some sort of guaretee. New things can be well received, ill received, or not received at all. We just don’t know how it will go because it’s never been done before. We’ve become too afraid to try anything we can’t guarantee will succeed.

I want to change that.

While I’m still a rookie in terms of writing fiction, maybe I’m in a prime position to add new and fresh ideas to the writing pool. I don’t have experience and don’t know what is guaranteed to work from a writing stand point. Maybe that can help me to be willing to try something new.

No more remakes.

It’s time to make something new for the first time in a long time.

Leave a Reply

