Love Doesn’t Make the World Go Round; Coffee Does.

o-COFFEE-facebook

Large hot coffee with almond milk or a grande soy latte.

Each and every morning during the five day work week, I leave earlier than I should to beat the drive through line at the local Dunkin Donuts. I live in a college town so the months of August to May usually draw extra patrons to the establishment, leaving the drive through line backed up to the highway once seven o’clock in the morning hits. Even the summer months entice long lines, especially in the morning, all waiting in line for different versions of the same exact thing.

Coffee.

I need my coffee and will arrange my day to constantly be able to obtain my cup of morning joe. I cannot mentally handle most tasks without at least a few sips of hot coffee. No matter if I get a full good night’s rest, I am unable to properly function without at least part of a medium sized coffee poured down my throat. Hell, most of my co-workers walk into the office, either in the morning or after lunch, with a cup of Dunkin Donuts coffee in their hands.

America runs on Dunkin, as does our office and many other people on the east coast of the United States.

There are a few people who can start the day without any type of liquid courage. People who wake up feeling refreshed and can even sneak in a workout before starting the rest of their work day. Congratulations, you strange morning people.

For me and the rest of the not-morning people, we need a little non-alcoholic courage to function in the daylight.

My love affair with this caffeinated beverage began at the ripe young age of about seventeen. In high school, my school’s cafeteria started offering coffee for a dollar a cup. At this point, I only occasionally drank a daily cup of java. I don’t know if I even liked the taste of the drink, but I suppose I felt it was the adult thing to do, so I bought the drink faithfully every morning.

It tasted like flavored dirt.

The coffee they chose to serve was a well known brand. It was the type of Starbucks you bought in a grocery store. I’d pour the blackish-brown liquid into the paper cup, hand the cashier my dollar, and then proceed to empty, no joke, six sugar packets and three creamers into the drink to make it tolerably drinkable.

Still, it didn’t deter my need for the beverage to get through my day. In fact, it only it encouraged it.

Coffee became my work companion when I graduated college. I started my current nine to five job, my Dunkin runs started before a very late or very early shift at the grocery store I worked at. I would text whoever was working the later shift for their order, drive to the coffee shop for the order,  and then deliver the orders to their recipients. I rarely ever made anyone pay. I believed everyone who needed coffee should have coffee.

Call me the patron saint of coffee.

Since then, I’ve had to have a cup of coffee every single day I get out of bed. Nowadays,  my coffee drinking habits have reached a consistent basis. The weekdays have me going to the local Dunkin Donuts for my large hot coffee with almond milk, while the weekends have me putting a Starbucks dark roast K-Cup into the machine and adding almond, soy, or coconut creamer into my coffee cup.

It’s arguably life’s most common, but acceptable addictions.

The idea of starting my morning without a cup of coffee is frightening. I honestly could not tell you if it’s the actual caffeine in the coffee that is waking me up or if I have just convinced myself of this. Either way, the first discernible words I will speak Monday morning will be the same I almost always speak.

Large hot coffee with almond milk

One thought on “Love Doesn’t Make the World Go Round; Coffee Does.

Leave a Reply

