…When You’re Fast Asleep

night-sky-14.jpg

“A dream is a wish your heart makes…when you’re fast asleep,” Disney’s Cinderella.

I usually wake up in the morning during the work week before any of my six alarms. Relishing in the quiet peace, I let the warmth of the blankets and the cool breeze of my air conditioning unit lull me back closer to the bliss of sleep. Unfortunately, I must reluctantly resist the urge to slip back into slumber for fear of oversleeping past the work day.I do not want to get out of the warm embrace of my blankets and venture into the coldness of the real world…

…but I do because I have to be an unfortunately responsible adult. Dammit.

The rest of the day, when the battle between my bed and my need to go to my job so I can  pay my bills ends in my defeat, is a sleepy, foggy delay until I can fall back in between the sheets of my loving bed. Pouring coffee and caffeinated tea down my throat in an attempt to fight my sleeplessness does little to shift my allegiance to the waking world, and I remain in a haze.

Funny thing is that I complain about being exhausted all day, but I do this to myself. This is my own fault.  My normal bedtime during the week is about one in the morning, give or take a few minutes, and I wake up around six in the morning. That only guarantees me five hours of sleep, at least, if I fall asleep instantly, which I rarely do.

It’s sad that I get so little sleep because I love sleep.

Sleep is where we can press pause on the chaos going on internally and externally in ourselves and recharge for the next day. Underneath the protection of blankets and sheets while your head rests comfortably on pillows, the rest of the world does not exist. The only world that exists is the one on the bed.

Of course, there is also the world of dreams.

Shakespeare, in his play Hamlet said it best, “To sleep, perchance to dream…” While I do not always have the luxury of remembering the little movies that flicker on the screen of my mind, I know I dream. Sometimes, these little mental films allow me to escape from the pains of the documentary that is life. Other times, dreams are where those pains catch up to me when I am unable to avoid them.  Still, I love to escape to the dream world so much that I sometimes find myself trying to have short moments of sleep as soon as I get home from work.

Naps.

Oh, naps. I have a love/hate relationship with the concept of a nap. When I was a small child, I refused to nap when placed in my room at nap time.  My mom would shut the door, and I would play with my toys. I would do anything but shut my eyes to rest my head.

Now, I relish at the opportunity to take a nap or two when I can. I just wish I was any good at it. If I nap for an hour or less, it is not anywhere close enough to heal me from my exhaustion. Napping any more than that, and I lose all sense of reality.

Anyway, I bid you all sweet dreams and good night.

Time to go to sleep (in an hour).

Leave a Reply

