Recipe to Relax

Baking-Cupcakes.jpg

Step 1: Find a cookbook

I am no world class chef. I will probably never compose a cookbook or have a cooking show on the Food Network ever in my life time. However, in the past few years, I have become a sort of amateur cook due to lifestyle changes and a variety of circumstances. Like I said, I’m not perfect at the art of cooking, but I’ve learned to fall in love with crafting something through preparation and combination that I can later consumer for nourishment.

Cooking has become a sort of therapy. I honestly think I enjoy making the food more than I like eating it. The joy is in the preparation of the dish. Well, it’s supposed to be anyway.

Of course, I’m also the type of person who will make a snack while cooking dinner, but that is beside the point.

Step 2: Gather your ingredients that you will need to make your meal or dessert.

I am most definitely a foodie. I’m not at all someone who only sees food as fuel; I enjoy and take pleasure in creating and consuming works of culinary art. I love any and all types of fruits and veggies, even before I decided that was the only thing I was going to consume in my diet. I’m a carb queen and believe fats and sugars should be in every single thing you eat. Basically, I love food, a lot.

How I’m skinny is a bit of a mystery, but whatever. I eat, and it doesn’t really affect my appearance. I got lucky in that department.

Step 3: Get out your measuring cups and spoons for accurate measurements.

The goal of cooking is to make something edible because we as living beings need nourishment in order to survive in life.  You are making something that can and, hopefully, will be consumed by you and other people. Well, in my case, just I will consume. I became vegan about six years ago and learned quickly that if I wanted to consume food that did not involve the harm or exploitation of an animal, I would have to learn to make it myself.

Hell, most people considered it a phase for two years and assumed I would go back to meat and cheese. Spoiler alert: I didn’t. Through my pursuit for better health and a more moral diet, I developed a great love for cooking. I liked being able to create a dish with my own two hands. It made me more independent, curious, and creative in my own nutrition.

Step 4: Pour the ingredients together and mix them up until they are combined.

There is something so meditative about cooking, baking, or making any sort of edible creation. I do not have to worry about anything except making sure the ingredients are added in the right order with the right measurements. You can just sit back, mix up the ingredients, and just relax.

Nothing else matters except the mixing bowl.

Step 5: Bake or let your creation sit for however long it takes for what you are making to finish cooking.

When you cook or bake, you will inevitably reach a point where you have to sit back and wait. This can usually be a boring time in the culinary process, but it also allows you to pause. You now get to reflect on you own little achievements in the process of culinary creation. You don’t care if the finished product comes out perfect; you’re just glad and proud of what you have completed.

Step 6: Serve and enjoy

Leave a Reply

