Enough is Enough

product-1_2_2

My body decided to take a nap today.

After a long day at work, I decided to stretch out in bed for a few minutes before I began my blog post, worked out, and finished any task I needed to get done in my normal day. After I finished with a nice and relaxing bath, I sat down on my bed to enjoy my relaxed state for a second before I completed whatever tasks I needed to complete during my day. I assumed I would sit for a second and move on.

I fell asleep for an hour.

I’m not entirely sure why I decided to take a nap, or rather, why my body decided to take a little bit of a rest. I just sat down on my bed, and next thing I knew, an hour had passed me by. I must not have realized how exhausted I was. Before I fell asleep, I had ever intention of sitting for a few minutes and getting up to do what ever I needed to get done.

That’s the thing; I don’t think I listen to my body enough.

My body, like everyone else’s, has a limit.  We are imperfect as human beings.

Time to take a nap, human race.

It’s okay to admit to ourselves that we lack the ability to make it through something. Believe me, I am the worst at taking this advise.  I want to believe I am some sort of Wonder Woman and can handle any sort of problem and situation I am presented with and have the energy to face the world as I need to, but I don’t. I am a weak creature. I only have so much energy and effort I can give to the world on any given day.  I am prone to moments of emotional weakness. The weight of the world weighs heavily on my shoulders a lot of the time. I have yet to truly understand how to realize when I don’t have enough to give to a situation and when I need to take a break.

Yes, it’s hard advice to take, but it is essential to staying upright in the world we find ourselves in.

It cannot be said enough that we are not perfect creatures. I’m not saying we shouldn’t push ourselves beyond our limits and comfort zones; of course, we should strive to push ourselves to be better than we are at that moment. All I am saying is we need to be willing to succumb to our own bodies admission of defeat when things get too much. Push yourself too far without allowing yourself to take a break, and you might not be able to make it through the next task you need to complete. Take a nap when you’re tired. Eat a cookie, or whatever you may be craving, when you are hungry. Take a break when you need one. Let yourself be weak when you cannot be strong.

Be willing to admit defeat to save yourself.

Leave a Reply

